Latest Post

A Norvell Note

 

Long-time friend-from-a-distance Joe McKeever has written an excellent article on The Battle Scars of Ministry Life. Whether you are considering the ministry, currently in the ministry, have stepped away from ministry you will find this article very meaningful and familiar. Check it out The Scars of Ministry Life.

Good article from Thriving Pastor

http://blog.thrivingpastor.com/the-three-rs-of-re-creation-rest-recess-renewal/?refcd=498702&utm_campaign=Thriving+Pastor%3A+The+Three+Rs+of+Re-creation%3A+Rest%2C+Recess%2C+Renewal&utm_medium=email&utm_source=nl_thrivingpastor


Regardless of the size of your church sometimes you might need to ask this question: Is it your job to kill cockroaches?

Check out this short video: Killing Cockroaches


I read an article this morning by Carey Nieuwhof (7 Lies Most Pastors Tell) and the first lie caught my attention. Nieuwhof begins his list with:

1. I’m Doing Great 

That’s what I say to almost anyone who asks me how I am.

But it’s not always true.

Don’t get me wrong, I don’t think you should burden strangers or Sunday morning guests with the ‘real’ answer, but sometimes I’ve said this to people close to me when I haven’t been great.

The point is not to tell everyone when you’re struggling, but you do need to tell someone.

Just because you can’t tell everyone when you’re struggling doesn’t mean you shouldn’t tell anyone. If you don’t, your days in ministry are numbered.

Here’s how to be an appropriately transparent leader without oversharing.

Does that sound familiar to you? Is that a lie you frequently, or occasionally, tell yourself and to others when they ask about you?

I particularly want to emphasize one sentence in Nieuwhof’s article. “The point is not to tell everyone when you’re struggling, but you do need to tell someone.”

That’s where I come in. I will listen. I do not promise answers. I do not guarantee solutions. I am not a Mr. Fix-it. But I do care. I have been there. And when I ask, “How are you?” I really want to know.

My email is: tomnorvell@mac.com.

P.S. If you are in ministry and not familiar with Carey Nieuwhof and his work, do yourself a favor and check him out.

Pastor, how are you?

Leave a comment